Next week

Next week I am going on holiday to see some family members I have not seen for over 3 years, and there will be no regular internet access, so I won’t be updating this for a while I’m afraid. The thing I’m worried about most about meeting them is not about how much they have changed, but about how much I have changed. My personality, my situation and my whole outlook on life has almost completely changed. I’m concerned about how dissimilar I am from my former self, and also how concious of this I am. Family always have a certain set of expectations of you, which can be an incredible comfort, but can also be a little limiting. They want whats best for you, but only within their definition of best, not yours. And as you grow and develop, whats best for you changes, as does your opinion of whats best. But your opinion of you also changes, it has for me. I have developed significantly more confidence these past few years than I have through the rest of my life. I have also changed my self image a lot, which I think is a good thing.

What I intend to take from this thought is that you should keep in contact with people by any means possible. So that if you ever should meet, you can recognize each other and understand what has happened in each others lives.

Leave a Reply

