A super year ahead

Last year, was not a great one for superhero films. Iron Man 2 is arguably the only tentpole one, and Kick Ass also came out but was not to everyone’s taste, and was certainly far from conventional. Iron Man 2 was in my opinion an alright film, but wasn’t quite as good as the first one. My review of Kick Ass can be read on this site and that I quite enjoyed.

Next year however promises quite a wide selection. The first major one will be Thor, the Marvel tale of the Norse God of Thunder. Directed by Kenneth Branagh and staring Natalie Portman and Anthony Hopkins, it certainly promises a whole host of talent. The trailer can be found here and while not amazing, is intriguing. I’ve never seen the appeal of Thor as a character, as his Hammer is not the most amazing power and the fact he’s a son of a God is neither exciting nor original. I’ll probably go and watch it, but I don’t expect it to be anything revolutionary.

The next one is X-men: First Class, the prequel to the much loved film series. No trailer has been released yey, but a few photos have been released here to highlight the 60’s style and the retro costumes. Recasting James McAvoy as Charles Xavier is a bold move, and I’m not really convinced it will work. The photos of Michael Fassbender as Magneto however, look exactly right, and the costume design for Emma Frost looks brilliant. As a big fan of the series, I’m really looking forward to this one.

After that, comes the first new hero from DC for quite a long time, Green Lantern. The trailer is also out, and Ryan Reynolds stars as the hero in a completely CG costume. Not that familiar with the character, this was always going to have to work hard to convince me, and quite frankly, I’m not impressed. The effects are everywhere and the main hero looks complete jerk, but not in the amusing way that Tony Stark is. Humans seem to be reduced to minor roles and the breadth of vision seems to be more important than the depth. So far, not planning on seeing this, but it may convince me yet.

Finally, the other offering from Marvel before the Avengers movie can happen is Captain America: The First Avenger. That subtitle is necessary to let you know this is a period piece and purely an origin story. It features Chris Evans (yes, the Human Torch) fighting a Nazi Hugo Weaving. No trailer yet, but the images show a really built up Evans and a old fashioned retro styling that has certainly caught my eye. The story has never really grabbed me, but as with X-men, a period superhero story could well be worth watching.

However, at this stage all is speculation and I could be entirely wrong. I will let you know what I think once I’ve seen them, feel free to tell me your thoughts. And sorry for the punny title.

3 thoughts on “A super year ahead

    1. Nathan Boxall

      “In brightest day, in blackest night,
      No evil shall escape my sight
      Let those who worship evil’s might,
      Beware my power… Green Lantern’s light!”
      The green lantern is one of my favourite super heroes, but it is extremely difficult to recreate the lantern’s power on screen, I’m going to watch it, but I don’t think I’m going to be amazed 😦
      I am also looking forward to watching Thor, though it seems they are taking the origin of Thor from the Ultimates, rather than the original, when he had to share his life with an alter ego, Donald Blake. But I guess they have done that with all the modern marvel superhero films.
      I disagree with you about Iron Man 2… I prefer it to the first one, not sure why, but I found it more exciting! By the way: Hulk smash puny (punny) title! 🙂

    2. chrysalisloall

      Have a look at Weaving in costume as the villain:

      Note the lack of swastikas, since the film company believed that anything too close to the Nazis would be bad for their sales. However, he’s still clearly German and everyone will see that they are supposed to be Nazis. That point aside, it is one of the most awesome costumes I’ve seen in a while.

Leave a Reply

