Time is money

I’m a big fan of high concept science fiction and this trailer seems to me to be one of the best ideas I’ve heard in a long time. The film is called In Time, and I’ll let the trailer speak for itself.

 

This is a wonderful idea, because it gives a very clear meaning of value. This then got me thinking about piracy.

I know many people who are under the belief that they are entitled to high quality entertainment. Some I imagine justify that if entertainment does not perform its primary function, that of entertaining and providing amusement, then it is not worth paying for.

It seems to me to be quite clear from this concept in the film that you earn time to live by working. This time can then be spent however you want; that is your reward. If you wish to enhance it with a coffee, a film or anything else, you’ll have to pay for it. You can have a shorter but nicer life, or a longer one with fewer luxuries.

Film has become viewed as Art, in the sense that you should be able to view it for free. This is fundamentally flawed however, as there is no such thing as an original Pulp Fiction. Movies are actually produced as consumables, like a coffee.

What the correct way to make a profit out of films is another post for another time, but for now, just enjoy the trailer and the idea. It’s kept my imagination amused for a few days now. I’m not sure whether the final film will be as exciting as the concept, but that remains to be seen.

Leave a Reply

