Conspiracy theories

I’ve recently been watching X-files again, a show I thoroughly enjoy. I don’t like it because I believe in aliens or that the government are hiding secrets from us, but because I can root for Fox. He is constantly searching for the truth and stops at nothing to get it. His relationship with Scully is irresistibly watchable; a constant struggle between reason, emotion and truth.

I was looking at some INFJ websites the other day, as I often do when I’m looking for weaknesses to improve on. One site jokingly called my type a conspiracy theorist, with quotes like the following:

INFJs often come home from a hard day’s work exposing conspiracies about how the government is poisoning us with mind-control agents spread by passenger airliners and unwind by spending all night writing Web sites exposing conspiracies about how NASA faked the Bush election.

That got me thinking, and I realised I am a conspiracy theorist after all.

I believe that the devil is conspiring to hide the truth from us, and he has had reasonable success. A great number of people accept the lies they hear and don’t seek out the truth. I do and have a passion for learning more about what God knows the truth to be.

So that’s what sort of Christian I am, a truth exposer. I am on a quest for answers and will continually share what I know. I don’t expect people to automatically agree with me, but I will proclaim and defend my convictions.

Fox has a poster in his office saying “I want to believe”. I do believe, I’m just trying to define what I believe in more precisely.

Leave a Reply

