Assembling Avengers for truth, freedom and the American Way!

Last week I watched Avengers Assemble, and there is only one part of it that followed me out of the cinema. It wasn’t the action, it wasn’t the significantly better Hulk or Black Widow and it wasn’t the post credit’s scene. It wasn’t the witty dialogue or the moment when something spoilerific happened leading to a reaction.

No, it was the argument that Loki made. He states that we were made to be ruled, but kept being tempted away by the idea of freedom. To quote:

Is this not your natural state? It’s the unspoken truth of humanity, that you crave subjugation. The bright lure of freedom diminishes your life’s joy in a mad scramble for power, for identity. You were made to be ruled. In the end, you will always kneel.

I found this thought very hard to deal with. Can you ever be free if you let someone else rule your life?

My first thought was that this is promoting anarchy, or at the very least survival of the fittest. In a superhero film, this feels almost natural, as vigilantism is working outside of the established police powers. SHIELD is of course the exception in this film, making the question even more confusing, as it’s always been unclear in the films whether they report to anyone or not.

The more time passed, the more it bugged me. What was this film saying about freedom? Clearly, it was against people who tried to insert themselves as rulers over others, but going against the orders issued by those in authority over you seemed to be acceptable.

I decided to go back to basics; what did I think freedom was? My first thought was of an open and empty field. Stereotypical I know, but there you have it.

The important part is that it is an empty field with nobody else even visible. So, I thought, nobody there to rule over me. My definition of freedom then was clearly based on anarchy. Or so I thought.

I started imagining what I would be doing while free and I imagined myself prancing around the field. I jumped, pranced and rolled around.

And then it hit me; why was I obeying the laws of physics? This was my ideal place, my perfect world, and I couldn’t fly!

When I visualised myself flying though, it felt wrong. The person was no longer me and that broke what I saw as the fundamental law of freedom; acceptance.

So, even in my definition of freedom, there are rules. Does that mean there is a ruler as well? Sort of, there was whatever made physics work (God imho) but the key thing is that it didn’t control me. At least, it didn’t force me into doing things I didn’t want to. Except falling over, that was physics fault.

Hmm, my definition seems to accept being ruled, and being made to do some things that you regret. So what do I think freedom is?!?! The frustration and thinking continues…

3 thoughts on “Assembling Avengers for truth, freedom and the American Way!

  1. Nathan says:

    Freedom for me is the ability to choose, i.e. free will. Take the example of gravity, humans were not born with the natural ability to defy gravity, I guess we can jump and all that, but gravity always brings us back down… Humans made the choice to create planes which “ignore” gravity, rockets leave the atmosphere, we build skyscrapers because we choose to go build upwards, trying to beat gravity’s pull.

    I heard a talk several years ago, it was explained how children, if let into a field and nothing is said, they would stick in a group not knowing what to do, if you give them clear boundaries, like you can play up to edge of the field, you are not allowed to go onto the road, etc they would spread all around and have the time of their lives.

    As a christian, I choose to follow God and have Him as my King, He never forces me to do anything, but because He wants the best for me and knows a LOOOOOT more than me, following His rules and accepting His authority gives me freedom and the ability to live a full life. Though at any point in my life I can choose to ignore what He says and face the consequences of my actions.

    So for me the definition of freedom is the ability to choose what I do… with a caveat, I must accept all the consequences of my choices.

    Though, for me, if I could create a world with no boundaries, I always picture myself flying 🙂

  2. I was recently reading a blog about good management in the workplace, one line which struck me is that ‘Management is service, not control’. Loki’s view of ruling is to rule as a dictator (to control), and to forcefully assert his view and template of how the world upon the people, putting creativity and life in chains and removing all freedom. Whereas in a management viewpoint if you set out a few goals and rules but give give people the freedom to choose how to live out their lives, complete tasks and the space to explore/create they tend to be a lot happier and knowing where the boundaries are they can explore and be more creative.

  3. chrysalisloall says:

    Thanks for the comments guys!!

    I’m thinking along the same sort of lines, that freedom kind of works in levels. It’s kind of a revolutionary thought for me that freedom is not an absolute, but an ability. I’ve always thought of it as this idyllic place, where all things are possible, but it seems I was part way there all along. Nice thought to end the week on 😀

Leave a Reply

