Thoughts

One of the things I’m really enjoying out here in India is God TV. Its something I never experienced before and not something I expected my trip to include. It is something I’m rather enjoying; put on a bit of background preaching and if it’s not for you, turn off without offending anyone. It trivialises the Word of God a little, but on the other hand, it makes fitting God into those five minutes gaps that much easier.

For example, I just tuned into a bit of Kenneth Copeland, an American minister whose name rings a bell but I’ve never heard preach before. I caught two minutes, but they hit me hard.

He read 2 Corinthians 10V4-5, which I include below from the Holman Christian Standard Bible, with verse 3 as added context:

For although we are walking in the flesh, we do not wage war in a fleshly way, since the weapons of our warfare are not fleshly, but are powerful through God for the demolition of strongholds. We demolish arguments and every high-minded thing that is raised up against the knowledge of God, taking every thought captive to the obedience of Christ.

His point was that the second sentence means that we are to subdue every natural thought from our imagination and put thoughts of God above all. Naturally we will dwell on anything worldly and not heavenly things, but we have been equipped and called to elevate God first.

It was one of those moments when the penny dropped and you could still hear it spinning. Like anyone would, I immediately got down on my knees to search for the precious coin.

I found the same verses translated thus in the Source, a recent translation by a non-christian scholar:

For although we do actually act out our lives in the natural realm we do not serve as a soldier (on active service) dictated to by the natural realm. For the foot soldiers weapons of our military campaign are not natural weapons. Indeed, our weapons are divinely powerful for the purpose of destroying strongholds, destroying calculations and destroying the heights of enemy defenses that are raised up against people who are coming to know God. These weapons take all your thoughts as prisoners of war so that you can pay attention to the Anointed One.

The preacher then went on to talk about how the Enemy had made us obsess with death and decay, with many phrases linking to it. I’m dead tired, you’re killing me and other such idioms are common place, but can you think of any sayings as common to do with life or reinforcement? People are thrilled to death, and not with awe or to do greater things or with delight.

It was then that I had to rush off again. I’m still unsure as to whether this is a healthy attitude to God or not, even though the intention may be good. One thing I can say for sure, the more you listen, the more God will say.

Leave a Reply

